Help My Doubt

Faith seeking reason- Mark 9:24

Christian Recession- Factor #4

  1. From Bankrupt to Solvent-
    1. Quotes from Chapter 4:
      1. “The prudent see danger and take refuge, but the simple keep going and suffer for it (Proverbs 27:12)”.
      2. Our ministry model has become overly dependent on dollars (p. 85). Somewhere along the way, unofficially and probably with good intentions, out ministry leaders began counting dollars instead of disciples (p.85). The newest generations, weaned by a consumer culture both inside and outside the church, have little concept of consistent or sacrificial giving (p. 89). Our churches and parachurches are unprepared for the 46% drop in donations that we will likely see in the next fourteen years (copyright 2013). 17% of Christians say they tithe- but only 3% actually give 10% or more of their income to the Lord’s work (p. 94). It is the spiritual consequence of our failure at discipleship (p. 95).

 

  1. Quotes from Chapter 10:
    1. “Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also (Luke 12:34)”.
    2. The fossil fuel crisis may be centuries away. But the evangelical fuel crisis- the crisis of donations – is already upon us (p. 168). But I the models and mandates of the New Testament, we find four practical ways to do more ministry with less money (169). Hybrid ministries don’t require as much money because they’ve been careful about output (building and other overhead costs), and they also have an alternate energy source (non-paid staff, p. 170). Conservation: avoid debt commitments beyond then next ten years (p. 174). Preparation: Teach mature givers about the recession. Create legacy vehicles, such as bequeathals or ministry trusts, so their gifts can outlive them (p. 175). Abandon: Disciple the church in life surrender and biblical tithing…The financial crisis is not a shortage of funds. It is a shortage of commitment (p. 178). Ministries that implement all four of these tactics, with right heart motives, may have more funds than they know what to do with – even as formerly established churches and ministries struggle through the next decade (p. 180).

 

  1. Reflection: I was a pastor for almost 10 years in a small church in Pennsylvania. It was a great experience and they treated me and my family very well. We lived in the parsonage and they provided full-time financial support to the point where I suggested more than once that they stop giving me raises. As much as they supported me and I tried to say and do whatever God wanted me to, there was a fear which reminded me that strong preaching could result in an offended church and loss of income. I did not leave full-time ministry for that reason but now that I know how it feels to be a part-time pastor and have “secular” employment, I prefer it that way. Add to that, now, this book which predicts less giving in the future, AND, more importantly, examples from Jesus and Paul, who put in place alternate sources of income, bi-vocational pastors seem to be the way of the future. We should not be surprised that God could use these pressures to push the church to live out what we say we believe about the priesthood of all believers and for pastors to focus on equipping them through the ministry of the word and prayer. Of course God should prune the churches in the most prosperous country in the world by testing our relationship with money!
  2. Yes, I’m aware that I’m still afraid of losing my income. I get nervous about the possibility of being falsely accused of discrimination just because I’m a Christian and could lose my job or license (even though no one is supposed to discriminate against me based on my religion). These chapters really push us to acknowledge that we have lacked commitment. My family and my church have done well with debt but, God help us, I don’t know any other way to put a kid through college these days than to take out loans that will probably take all of 10 years to pay off! We are still giving 10% to church joyfully, and hope that our witness and example influence others but keeping the church out of debt sounds REALLY important in this generation. The house-church movement has been fascinating to me while at the same time I have been unimpressed with the mega-church movement. It seems to me that China or Africa could teach us something about genuine discipleship and that with a lot less dependence on money. I would love to see a church of small groups and families worshipping and making disciples in homes and cafe’s and book stores and libraries and schools and mechanic garages and farms rather than another huge church where people come to see a weekly professional performance and go home until next week. God help us. Amen.

March 16, 2019 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. This section was especially interesting. Like you, I enjoy the smaller churches. It seems that the people know each other better and are more willing to be involved. Regarding bi-vocational ministry, there are ups and down to that. One positive is that the pastor is out in the world more often and has the opportunity to interact with people more naturally. I have often wondered why churches don’t meet in people’s homes.

    Comment by andyrupert | March 16, 2019 | Reply


Leave a comment