Help My Doubt

Faith seeking reason- Mark 9:24

Jewish Communion

We celebrated the Lord’s Supper during worship this week. I decided to play a video of a Jewish Christian who demonstrated how our Communion ceremony came from the Jewish Passover ceremony. I felt strange playing a video in place of my sermon and I will probably not do it again. In fact, I’m starting to feel negative towards most of the technology we use in the church. Sometimes I just wish we could have church around the dinner table like Jesus did. I know he went to the Temple and Synagogue at the appointed times too, but, most of his spiritual training took place in homes, while walking or having a picnic. He accomplished so much with so little. I want to do that.

May 4, 2011 - Posted by | Sermons

6 Comments »

  1. I was thinking about technology used in church the other day when reading Eugene Peterson’s book Leap Over a Wall. He was saying that work can get in the way of worship. How much do we rely on the sound booth at the back of the sactuary to help us to worship?

    God forbid that there would be technical difficulties during worship service. While the sound team frantically “works” for the next 45 minutes at restoring “worship”, would we be at a loss because we wouldn’t have the lyrics on the screen to sing from and we wouldn’t be able to hear the keyboard?

    Imagine that! No screen or plasma monitor projecting shallow worship lyrics with iconographic images in the background. We might have to go back to using the hymnals or worse yet sing from memory. That might be too much work for some to worship in.

    Could someone light a candle, please?

    Comment by Marty | May 16, 2011 | Reply

    • Amen, my buddy Marty! Again this week we had trouble with the sound coming from our microphones and from the Gospel of John DVD I wanted to play before my message. I ended up reading from the bible (imagine!) and think everyone could hear me just fine anyway. Why do we bother? I’ll tell you, I have been very much attracted to the simplicity of the house church movement.

      Comment by helpmydoubt | May 16, 2011 | Reply

  2. I fell as though satan must have felt threatened by our worship on Sunday morning. All he could tamper with was the sound system… Bless the Lord, his message (through Brad) was heard, at least by me. God truely is Amazing! Amen

    Comment by Shambra | May 16, 2011 | Reply

  3. I just sit in amazement all the littel tecnotrenkets we have in our church just take a break and don’t want to work right.
    You know the word of GOD still comes through loud and clear.

    Comment by Joe Mitchell | May 16, 2011 | Reply

  4. Well that point found its way home some where. Technology is great but what happened to doing things as they were orginally. I for one think so much in tradition was cast out at greater loss than we are willing to admit to ourselves and others. Our minds may get more exercise the old fashion way.

    Comment by Donald E. Tilton | May 16, 2011 | Reply

  5. You guys are great. Satan really is threatened by “two or three gathered in Jesus’ name” but the Word of God cannot fail! As long as we keep faith in “old fashioned” worship that Jesus revealed- “in spirit and in truth”- then the gates of Hell will not prevail against His church (with our without electronics). Thanks for encouraging me.

    Comment by helpmydoubt | May 17, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

