Help My Doubt

Faith seeking reason- Mark 9:24

No More Tears

Easter worship this year included a DVD clip from the Gospel of John which dramatized the resurrection of Jesus from the dead.

Of the 5 women named, “Mary” in the gospels, John gave a lot of attention to Mary Magdalene. She stayed at the empty tomb crying her eyes out when all the others had gone home. Maybe that is why Jesus revealed himself to her first. When Jesus said her name, Mary’s loud cries of grief turned into loud cries of excitement!

This week I wanted to focus on God’s blessing for Christians on this side of Heaven. Jesus told Mary to go tell His “brothers” that He was going to, “my Father and your Father”. One of the joys of Jesus’ resurrection from the dead is the possibility of being adopted into the eternal family of God.

Easter us often a sweet day for family to visit and eat and enjoy a holiday. I am thrilled to know that God has adopted me as His son, because I trust in my resurrected brother Jesus, and many of the people I visited with on Easter this year are eternal brothers and sisters too. I pray for more adoptions by Easter time next year.

April 25, 2011 - Posted by | Sermons

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

