Help My Doubt

Faith seeking reason- Mark 9:24

What the Spirit Says to Small Churches (2)

Boy was I tired out for this sermon. I could tell the whole church was tired Sunday morning. I really felt like the Holy Spirit wanted to encourage us. Thankfully, one of the Scriptures I had chosen read, “Do not fear. I am your shield and your very great reward (Genesis 15)”. I needed to hear that. I trust I was not the only one.

Practically speaking, small churches can be just as fruitful as large churches by investing a lot of time in the people within our circle of influence and by remembering how quickly life can come to an end. Those two things can make a rural church effective because they do not depend on large numbers of people or access to resources. They depend on divine knowledge and love which all true Christians have already received. God is good!

June 14, 2010 - Posted by | Sermons

2 Comments »

  1. Church is mainly NOT about nurturing the people but spreading the Gospel and making disciples.

    Comment by Disagree | December 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Disagree, I hear your kind of comment a lot and I just don’t get it. Nurturing the people is how we are supposed to spread the Gospel and make disciples. Jesus told Peter to “feed my sheep” and “take care of my lambs”. Over and over we were commanded to “love one another” and such nurture is how “they will know you are my disciples”. I don’t think it is possible to nurture to the point of neglecting the Gospel; if it happens then it is not nurturing enough.

      Comment by helpmydoubt | April 13, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

