Help My Doubt

Faith seeking reason- Mark 9:24

Baccalaureate 2010

I preached at our local High School for the first time last night. Boy was I nervous. I’ve been praying about and preparing for that night for close to a year.  God brought a blessing again.

The truth I wanted to emphasize was a truth that has been life changing in my own experience. Some call it the authority of Scripture. Some narrow the focus to the historical accuracy of Genesis 1. Some call it Creation Science. It seems to me that all the above is huge in any person’s movement towards salvation through faith in Jesus.

I am convinced by people like Ken Ham that people don’t believe in Jesus because they don’t believe the Bible is true. They don’t believe the Bible is true because Christians have more or less denied that Creation or Adam and Eve or Noah’s ark or the Tower of Babel are real history. The Bible has become a novel of Christian-fiction in most churches and, certainly, in schools.

So my message last night was about God creating us in the image of Himself and the meaning and joy that comes from knowing that truth. I highlighted the error of thinking that science can prove such a truth wrong because it is impossible for the scientific method to do so. The evolution of species is not historical fact and does not prove Creation wrong.

The bottom line is if we believe God and live accordingly we will find joy. I know I’ve never been happier and I really hope that our graduates will too.

June 2, 2010 - Posted by | Sermons

No comments yet.

Leave a comment